The Terrors of Adult Life

Hello Everyone!

It’s Feather here. Just saying hi here on Fobz and Mini! I just came by to drop a hint that I’m still active! Yes, I’m back from my hiatus! Ok, so the reason why I’m suddenly back is because I’m finally free from university!

Yes, that’s right! I’m free! I’ve been free for two weeks now and well, let’s just say I’ve been catching up on my rest…well that’s not true. I’m working part time at a store, but hey, I’m resting as much as I can! So what am I going to talk about today? Well, if the title isn’t enough, I’ll be talking about the terrors of growing up!

So what are my terrors of growing up?

Well, I’ll be telling you my worst five terrors of growing up, because let’s face it. It is rather scary when you finally finish education and you have no idea what’s going to happen. You’re now void of a routine, you have no idea whether or not you’ll get a job, and you have no idea how to take care of yourself, despite the fact that maybe, just maybe your parents will let you live with them until you can provide for yourself. So shall we get to it?

2

Source

1. You need to know how to do things for yourself!

Alright, so I’ve lived a rather sheltered life, so it’s quite difficult to do much by myself, but the idea of looking out for only yourself is terrifying! It’s all well and good where you think you can handle things yourself, but the fact that I don’t have the same cushion as I had when I finished sixth form is terrifying.

3

Source

2. Looking for your dream job is a must!

Oh this one gets me every time I think about it! Even my mom has been harping on my case about finding a job! Despite the fact I’m already working part time, she thinks I’m just slacking. It’s only been two weeks since I officially finished going to university for lectures and workshops, but according her two weeks is enough rest. I did tell her I need to have some time to myself before I start looking!

4

Source

3. Age catches up to you!

Ok, so I’m not that old, but when you’re at university or at school, you don’t feel as tired as you think you are. In fact, when you’re at school or university, you tend to have more fun, since you’re with friends, but now that you’re in the adult world of working a job, when you finally come home at 5pm all you really want to do is watch TV and sleep. No joke! I mean yeah, I was always a couch potato…but I did want to go out every now and then, just to meet up with friends or have a good time, but lately, I just can’t be bothered to do that whole club scene or shopping scene. All I want to do is just lounge about at home!

5

Source

4. You learn things that will probably scar you for the rest of your life!

So you don’t really get scarred, but having watched disaster movies and documentaries, I’ve gotten pretty scared of learning a certain skill that would probably make my life easier…driving a car…I mean yes some of you have probably known how to drive since you were 16, or 21, but I’m 22 and I am still scared of driving a car. It frightens me when I think about how fast I’ll be going and if ever I make a mistake on the road, it’ll be my fault, and I’d have to take responsibility. I can’t actually say sorry and not feel guilty for hurting someone else!

6

Source

5. Responsibility! Responsibility! Responsibility

Now this is the worst terror of all! I know that all my life, I’ve always been responsible, whenever my parents ask it of me, but when it comes to actual responsibility, I’m actually quite nervous! I mean, when you’re an adult, you start thinking about what’s going to happen now! You’re out of university, how are you going to provide for yourself? You don’t have the cushion of knowing that someone else is looking out for you and paying the bills or doing the shopping. It’s up to you to do that now! Granted, I’m still living at home, so I don’t have to worry about that just yet, but one day I’ll have to move out. One day I’ll have to be responsible and take care of myself, I can’t rely on my parents forever!

7

Source

So what’s your story?

Now you know my grievances with being an adult, what’s yours? Do you fear leaving your home or do you embrace it? Do you have the courage to say, I can do this, or are you just as stuck as I am? Let me know, I’d like to hear your stories.

Well, that’s it from me, I hope to see ya’ll again someday soon! Don’t forget to check out my blog Feather’s Charm, and leave a like on this post if you’d like to hear more!

This is Feather, signing out!

8

If you like FeatherCharm, please subscribe to her on FacebookTwitter, SoundcloudBlogger and YouTube.

fb icon  twitter icon  Google plus icon  widget_watkins

Leave a comment